The Spiel: Packing House Wines

Nestled in the quaint suburbia town of Claremont, California is Packing House Wines: a place where the wine is flowing, glasses are clinking and the wine buzz is creeping. 

Packing House Wines is not only a restaurant, but is its own wine shop. Recently named “Best of” by the renowned Wine Spectator Magazine, the restaurant and shop is widely recognized for offering a well-curated and extensive selection of boutique wines. Packing House Wines also offers a classic, seasonal menu with new flavors and dishes to try every time you visit. This restaurant is a hidden gem, and I would be doing you a disservice if I kept this place my own little secret.

kpwine2
My friend Kristen carefully selecting our wine for the night. (photo by me)

I love everything about this restaurant: the crowd, the ambiance, the food and, of course, the wine. Before you even take a seat, the waiter recommends that you first pick a bottle from their selection of wines to drink at your table. The immense selection and aisles of wine can be quite intimidating, but each bottle includes ratings and descriptions to help with your indecisiveness. However, if you wish to forego the enchanted wine aisles, they do have a wine menu for those who are more of a drink-by-the-glass kind of person.

Oh, and the menu! I could write an entire new post just about the menu. From the charcuterie board to the delicious risotto, this menu has something for everyone. When I took my friend Kristen for her first time, we ordered the charcuterie board to start and had the beef tenderloin special for the main course. We also ordered the chocolate mousse for dessert, but who’s counting calories? We were in total food and wine bliss.

IMG_1665
Charcuterie + wine…what more could you ask for? (photo by me)

After you have spent a good few hours feasting and getting your drink on at Packing House Wines, it should not stop there. The Claremont Village (where the restaurant is located) has many bars and restaurants to hop to so you can keep the fun going. 

If you are anything like me and enjoy nothing more than good conversation over a fine bottle of wine with great company, I suggest you plan your next gathering at the Packing House Wines. I promise you will not be disappointed.

So in advance, you are welcome. 

One thought on “The Spiel: Packing House Wines

Leave a comment